How To Determine The Halal Status Of glycerin?
Glycerin, also known as glycerol, is a simple polyol compound that is commonly used in many food, pharmaceutical, and personal care products. It is a naturally occurring compound, typically from animals and plants. An important thing to consider while buying Glycerin is its halal status.
Luckily, there are a number of ways you can know if Glycerin is halal. As per the canonical rulings prescribed by the Quran, the food you eat should have certain perquisites. Halal is the permitted dietary standard according to it. Further mentioned in this article are a few points to help you understand is Glycerin halal.
Plant-Based Sources
The halal status of Glycerin can depend on its source. The most common variant of Glycerin comes from plant-based sources. You can get vegetable Glycerin, which is a plant-based variant. The discovery of vegetable Glycerin was, however, purely incidental. It gets made by heating a combination of lead monoxide and olive oil. The polyol compound derived is odorless and colorless, with a tinge of sweetness.
Glycerin has a diverse range of uses and can commonly be found in several different products you use daily. For instance, you can find vegetable Glycerin in toothpaste, shampoo and shaving creams.
It is famous as a humectant in the cosmetic industry and allows the products to stay hydrated for longer. It can also help enhance your gut and skin health, if it is derived from plant-based sources such as soy or palm oil, it would generally be regarded as halal.
Animal Based Sources
However, if it gets derived from animal fat, such as pork fat, its halal status can be a bit more complicated to determine. It’s important to check the ingredient list and the product labelling to determine the source of the Glycerin and to confirm its halal status.
In addition to that, which slaughter method got used and if it complies with Shari’s rulings is also an important factor to consider. You should also check the facilities and if contamination is possible and whether the ingredient got extracted when the animal was still alive. If the animal was alive, the slaughter method would then become irrelevant.
While you can find synthetic Glycerin in the market, it is not a common purchase. The majority of Glycerin is derived from plant-based sources, making most of the options in the market halal.
With this information in mind, you can rest assured that you comply with the laws mentioned in the Quran. The inability to do so can lead to Haraam in the religion. It is best you always check the ingredients and product labelling. This will surely help you confirm the halal status.
You can also make your purchases from reputable stores like Hawaii Pharm. They have some of the best product reviews in this market and ensure only top-quality service. They are also well-known for their compliance with halal products. If you are buying from them, you do not have to worry about the quality of your food.
That said, it is still a good idea to check the product labelling and description just to be safe. Hawaii Pharm’s products have detailed descriptions that allow you to learn everything about the product without much effort. Rest assured, you do not have to worry about the product quality when shopping from there.